County Information

Every county in South Jersey is classified as a metropolitan area. New Jersey is the only state where every county has this metropolitan classification.

Atlantic County was formed from the eastern part of Gloucester County in 1837. Mills, iron furnaces and brick yards were active in the region. Shipyards were plentiful with a large portion of the residents depending on shipbuilding for their livelihood. Atlantic City is home of the first built (1987) boardwalk which, to this day, remains the longest boardwalk in the world. Resorts International Casino was the first U.S. casino to be built outside of Nevada. Atlantic County’s Lucy The Elephant, built in 1881 and located in Margate, is the oldest example of zoomorphic architecture.

Burlington County is the largest county in New Jersey, covering 827 square miles and 40 municipalities. The largest blueberries in the world were developed and raised here. While one of the leading agricultural counties in the country, Burlington County houses considerable businesses providing manufacturing, industrial and retail services. The highway system through the County includes the Garden State Parkway, Interstate 295 and five NJ Turnpike interchanges.

Camden County was formed from portions of Gloucester County in 1844. The county became an industrial and commercial leader manufacturing hundreds of products. Camden City, located on the eastern border, is home of the first Drive-in Movie Theater, created by the local chemical company, R.M. Hollingshead Corporation. Cherry Hill displays the “J.A. Sweeton Residence” designed by architect Frank Lloyd Wright, reflecting Wright’s Usonian Scheme.

Cape May County, is the southernmost county in the State. With 30 miles of beaches, tourism, the single largest industry, generates revenues of approximately $5.3 billion. Leisure and hospitality is the largest employment category. The shore town of Cape May is one of the oldest vacation resort destinations in the United States, with its concentration of homes built from the Victorian Era, from Gothic Revival to Queen Anne design.

Cumberland County’s economy was developed around four principal industries. Glass making, food processing, textiles and, with its 40 miles of Delaware Bay coastline, maritime trades. Today, Cumberland County has a strong agricultural base with targeted industry sectors that include health care, construction, hospitality/tourism and advanced manufacturing.

Gloucester County’s Swedesboro and Bridgeport were among the earliest European settlements in New Jersey. Fort Mercer, located on the Delaware River, northwest of Woodbury, was erected during the Revolutionary War to guard the river’s approach to Philadelphia from the British. Gloucester County was founded in 1686 and once included the present Atlantic and Camden Counties. Farming in all phases is highly established and developed. Gloucester County’s Logan Township now houses one of the state’s largest industrial parks. The Pureland Industrial Complex opened in 1975 and is used daily by many local and national businesses.

Salem County is notable for its distinctive Quaker-inspired architecture and masonry styles of the 18th century. With its vast array of natural resources and open spaces, nearly half of the land is actively farmed. Salem County boasts the lowest population and lowest density per square mile in New Jersey. The western boundary is formed by the Delaware River and it has the eastern terminus of the Delaware Memorial Bridge, connecting the county to the state of Delaware.


BCSJ is now holding in person gatherings!

January Networking
Ryan Harbinson Shares LinkedIn Tips & Tricks

February Panel
The Evolving Financial Landscape


membership benefits membership